DIY Inspiration Board

I needed a poster alternative for my new house this year. In the past, I’ve gotten all kinds of posters but without fail I get sick of them within two months. Last year I even framed every single poster in my room. Should have remembered my indecisiveness before spending that money.

So, I decided to create an inspiration board. Especially after looking through all of the lovely, unique ones in this Design for Mankind zine.

I messed around with different ideas until I found a cheap way to make one that I love.

IMG_3511

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anddd here’s how I did it:

1. Gather the essentials

BOARD
2 foam boards @ 5.99 (Hobby Lobby)
2 rolls cork board @ 7.99 (Lowe’s)
3 yd. fabric @ 5.99/yd. (JoAnn’s)
Fabric tape
Fabric glue
Stapler
obv: scissors

PUSHPINS
Pack of earring backs (Michael’s)
Old buttons, coins, other small jazzy objects
Super glue (NOT tacky glue. big mistake.)

2. Pick a snazzy fabric

IMG_0128

 I chose this pattern because it was cheerful.. but not to the point of being sickening. I mean, this was the first thing I’m going to be seeing in the morning. I didn’t want it to bear any resemblance to my overly chipper mother waking me up in high school. I also knew I wanted a vintage theme for my decorations, so this detailed background seemed fitting. 

 

 

 

3. Start with the base

IMG_0119 The cork rolls that I had would make a 4’x4′ board, so I decided to cut my much larger foam boards to size. After creating a base of equal size  for the cork, I sealed it on both sides with fabric tape.

 

 

 

4. Stick on the cork

IMG_0120 That’s my overly chipper mom helping me out. We laid the cork rolls face down and used rolling adhesive (the two sided kind) on all of the edges. Then, we verrry carefully turned them over and lined up the edges. The adhesive couldn’t touch anything else.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_0124 This is what it looked like when we had them both secured. There were some air pockets, so we used little pieces of mounting tape to smooth everything out. 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Cover with fabric 

IMG_0129 The roll of fabric needed to be ironed before we put it down. After we did that we covered the board and then flipped the whole thing over.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_0130 We used a normal stapler to attach the edges to the back of the board. Worked like a charm. The hardest part was holding the board up after each edge to make sure the fabric looked tight and smooth. A buddy is definitely helpful during this process to keep the fabric stretched out while you staple. 

 

 

 

 

6. Let it chill

IMG_0131 If you can see the crease in the fabric, it’s because the roll I used wasn’t wide enough to cover the whole board. We used superglue to attach the extra fabric. So, afterwards I let it dry for a couple days. 

 

 

 

 

 

7. Accessorize!

IMG_3507 Craft earring backs + old buttons = cute thumbtacks. This was really easy. I just glued the buttons to the little metal parts and let them dry overnight while I picked out magazine and photo book clippings to put on the board. 

 

 

 

 

 

8. Get inspired

Picture books, old magazines, postcards.. For my board I searched through anything with wonderful images and didn’t hesitate to rip them out. I kept words to a minimum, considering I just wanted something that I could get a lift by looking at. I arranged the board with things that made me feel good, visions from a future that I can cross my fingers for. I’ve heard a lot of chatter on Oprah or by the authors of ‘The Secret’ about the magic of vision boards, as they like to call them.. but I’m not trying to tap into anything complicated. Now I simply get to enjoy waking up to a glimpse of everything that I love, a hodgepodge of my life, rather than a tribute to someone else’s (boring old Beatles poster, anyone?).  

Leave a Reply

